High Mobility MIMO-OFDM Transmission With Realistic Propagation Scenarios

Hochmobiles MIMO-OFDM Zug

     
                                  

Robust and high-rate data transmission in highly mobile environments faces severe problems due to the time-variant channel conditions. Especially, synchronization, channel estimation and data recovery are affected.

This situation is caused by the high Doppler shift and spread of signals between transmitter and a fast moving receiver. In daily life the phenomenon can be observed if an ambulance with switched on siren moves towards or away from an observer.

                   
 

Hochmobiles MIMO-OFDM Doppler

interpol_zug high-speed ofdm
                

The focus of this project lies with exploiting multiple transmit antennas in conjunction with distributed receive antennas. This is meant to reduce the loss of time diversity wiith spatial diversit; furthermore, Doppler compensating antenna structure aim at upholding the fundamental principles of MIMO signal processing even under high mobility constraints.

Receiver-side fading reduction is achieved by forming beams into certain direction to divide the Doppler spectrum into several subspectra of reduced Doppler spread.Reducing the Doppler spread leads to less time variant channels such that the subsequent processing steps are simplified.

                                                           
 antenna-pattern high-speed OFDM
sectorization high-speed OFDM           

A further topic is modelling and minimizing antenna coupling as well as optimizing the antenna structures in real world scenarios, in which the different approaches are validated. Such scenarios are a high-speed train and car-to-car communication.


 

Details

Duration: 06/2008 - 06/2010
Funding:German Research Foundation
Partners:University Karlsruhe, Institute for Very High Frequency Technology and Electronics
Precursor:Multicarrier systems for fast moving receivers at high data rates

Publications

1 | 2 vor
1 | 2 vor

Involved Staff

Last change on 13.04.2011 by Admin
AIT ieee tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Department of Communications Engineering - University of BremenImprint / Contact

Hochmobile MIMO-OFDM-Übertragung unter Berücksichtigung realer Ausbreitungsszenarien

Hochmobiles MIMO-OFDM Zug

     
                                  

Der robusten, hochratigen Datenübertragung in hochmobilen Umgebungen stehen erhebliche Probleme durch die Zeitvarianz des Funkkanals entgegen. Insbesondere sind die Synchronisation, Kanalschätzung und Datenrekonstruktion gestört.

Die Ursache liegt in der hohen Dopplerverschiebung und -spreizung der Signale durch den schnell bewegten Teilnehmer in einem Szenario. Im Alltag taucht dieses Phänomen auf, wenn sich ein Krankenwagen mit eingeschaltetem Martinshorn auf einen Beobachter zubewegt oder sich von ihm entfernt.
                   
 

Hochmobiles MIMO-OFDM Doppler

interpol_zug high-speed ofdm
                

 Der Schwerpunkt dieses Vorhabens liegt im gewinnbringenden Einsatz mehrerer Sendeantennen im Verbund mit verteilten Antennen am Empfänger. Mit diesem Ansatz soll einerseits dem Verlust zeitlicher Diversität mit räumlicher Diversität entgegengewirkt werden; andererseits soll dadurch die fundamentale Funktionsweise der MIMO-Signalverarbeitung auch in hochmobilen Umgebungen aufrecht erhalten werden.

Spezielle Antennenstrukturen sollen auf der Empfangsseite die Kompensation des Dopplereinflusses durch variable digitale Ausrichtung von Antennenkeulen ermöglichen, so dass sich die erforderlichen Detektionsschritte vereinfachen.

                                                           
 antenna-pattern high-speed OFDM
sectorization high-speed OFDM           

Im Fokus stehen weiter die Modellierung und Minimierung der Antennenverkopplung und die Optimierung der Antennenstrukturen in realer Umgebung. Reale Szenarien, in denen die genannten Ansätze validiert werden sollen, sind durch einen Hochgeschwindigkeitszug und Fahrzeug-zu-Fahrzeug-Szenarien gegeben. 

 

Details

Laufzeit: 06/2008 - 06/2010
Förderung:Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Partner:Universität Karlsruhe, Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE)
Vorgänger:Mehrträgersysteme für schnell bewegte Empfänger bei hohen Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten

Publikationen

1 | 2 vor
1 | 2 vor

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 13.04.2011 von Admin
AIT ieee tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Arbeitsbereich Nachrichtentechnik - Universität BremenImpressum / Kontakt