Artificial Intelligence for Mobile Systems (AIMS)

Initial situation and problem definition:

With the breakthrough of Deep Learning (DL) in image and speech processing and the multiple victories of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in games such as Chess or Go, the AI winter has ended and the technology has once again become the focus of scientific and public interest. On the other hand, there are high demands on future communication systems, in which more and more devices are connected with each other, thus requiring ever increasing efficiency and performance.

Therefore it is worthwhile to investigate and transfer AI for its applicability in communication technology. For this reason, the ANT has decided to include AI in its main research topics and to investigate how current communication systems can benefit from AI algorithms.

Objective:

In this project, fundamental concepts of AI procedures are investigated and evaluated for their applicability in telecommunication systems. Thereby concepts for the physical layer are in the foreground

As an example of how AI can be useful for communication systems, we use two recent publications of the ANT, which are shown below. By using model-driven neural networks, we are able to achieve performance improvements as well as lower computational complexity for the equalization of large multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) systems compared to state-of-the-art approaches.

Details

Duration: since 03/2018
Funding:ANT
Subsequent:Radio Communication with Artificial Intelligence (FunKI)

Publications

Involved Staff

Last change on 07.10.2020 by M. Hummert
AIT ieee GOC tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Department of Communications Engineering - University of BremenImprint / Contact

Künstliche Intelligenz für Mobilfunksysteme (AIMS)

Ausgangssituation und Problemstellung:

Mit dem Durchbruch von Deep Learning (DL) in Bild- und Sprachbearbeitung sowie den mehrfachen Siegen von künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) in Spielen wie Schach oder Go wurde der KI-Winter beendet und die Technologie ist wieder in das Interesse der Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit gerückt.  Auf der anderen Seite stehen die hohen Anforderungen an zukünftige Kommunikationssysteme, in denen immer mehr Geräte miteinander vernetzt sind und somit eine immer höher werdende Effizienz sowie Leistungsstärke erforderlich sind.

Daher ist es lohnenswert, KI auf ihre Anwendbarkeit in der Nachrichtentechnik zu untersuchen und zu übertragen. Aufgrund dessen hat der ANT sich entschlossen, KI in seine Forschungsschwerpunkte mit aufzunehmen und der Fragestellung nachzugehen wie aktuelle Kommunikationssysteme von KI-Algorithmen profitieren können.

Zielsetzung:

Im Rahmen dieses Projektes werden grundsätzliche Konzepte von KI Verfahren untersucht und auf ihre Anwendbarkeit in nachrichtentechnischen System evaluiert. Dabei stehen vor allem Konzepte für die Bitübertragungsschicht im Vordergrund.

Als Beispiel dafür, wie KI für Kommunikationssysteme von Nutzen sein kann, verwenden wir zwei aktuelle Publikationen des ANT, welche unten dargestellt sind. Durch den Einsatz modellgetriebener neuronaler Netze sind wir in der Lage, Leistungssteigerungen sowie eine geringere Rechenkomplexität für die Entzerrung großer MIMO-Systeme (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) im Vergleich zu State-of-the-Art Ansätzen zu erreichen.

Details

Laufzeit: seit 03/2018
Förderung:ANT
Nachfolger:Funkkommunikation mit Künstlicher Intelligenz (FunKI)

Publikationen

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 07.10.2020 von M. Hummert
AIT ieee GOC tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Arbeitsbereich Nachrichtentechnik - Universität BremenImpressum / Kontakt